This page is all about Asia, by far the largest continent (by area or population).

Here's the list of Asian countries:

  • Afghanistan
  • Bahrain
  • Bangladesh
  • Bhutan
  • Brunei
  • Burma (Myanmar)
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • East Timor
  • India
  • Indonesia
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Japan
  • Jordan
  • Kazakhstan
  • Korea, North
  • Korea, South
  • Kuwait
  • Kyrgyzstan
  • Laos
  • Lebanon
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Mongolia
  • Nepal
  • Oman
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Qatar
  • Russian Federation
  • Saudi Arabia
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka
  • Syria
  • Tajikistan
  • Thailand
  • Turkey
  • Turkmenistan
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uzbekistan
  • Vietnam
  • Yemen
 With 4 billion people and 44 nations, by this count, there is a lot of historical and culinary diversity on this continent:
Copyright free from the CIA
Many of the Central Asian countries (e.g., Turkmenistan, Kyrgyzstan) are former Soviet Socialist Republics (SSRs), yet are predominately Muslim. Other former SSRs include the Russian Federation itself and several European countries.

South-East Asia features massive countries such as the People's Republic of China, and smaller countries such as Vietnam.

The Indian subcontinent contains India, Sri Lanka, and Pakistan, with Hinduism, Sikhism, and Islam constituting large sections of the populations of those countries. Moreover, they share a common occupation by British colonial powers until after World War II.

Finally, Asia Minor - the geographical term for the area comprising much of the Muslim world - contains countries from Iran and Afghanistan to Saudi Arabia and the United Arab Emirates. These countries contain mostly Muslims and have been sites of cultural diffusion for centuries.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Don't spam or use profanity. Basically, use common sense. Otherwise, tell us what you think about the meal and whatnot. Share your experiences, too!